SRT10 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question: I took in my black srt-10 to my five star dealership for a complimentary detail and wax. I noticed today in extreme sun that there are marks throughout the paint that almost look like scratches given the right angle of light.

What the hell is it? I put on some Zymol cleaner wax in one area and it lightened up the marks. Are these marks from the wax they used? Does anyone else have these, especially after waxing? This is my first black truck, so I am new to this. Please inform me. Monday i would like to be prepared with some knowledge for argument when i give these guys hell. Thanks guys.

·
Registered
974 Posts
hadavi said:
Question: I took in my black srt-10 to my five star dealership for a complimentary detail and wax. I noticed today in extreme sun that there are marks throughout the paint that almost look like scratches given the right angle of light.

What the hell is it? I put on some Zymol cleaner wax in one area and it lightened up the marks. Are these marks from the wax they used? Does anyone else have these, especially after waxing? This is my first black truck, so I am new to this. Please inform me. Monday i would like to be prepared with some knowledge for argument when i give these guys hell. Thanks guys.

Post some pic's kinda hard to say without seeing it.. :cool:

·
Registered
2,850 Posts
I'm afraid to say but that is almost bound to happen with black paint. My 1500 hemi is black and you really need to do it by hand with a microfiber towel. If its real bad its hard to get you. You can try swirl remover like from 3M or Meguiers and the microfiber towel and follow up with a wax coat.

Another good tool is 3M hand glaze and a micro fiber towel followed by wax. The 3M hand glaze is a chemical buffer with no grit at all...

The best with black is...ALWAYS do it yourself. Only takes one guy to F it up.

·
Banned
4,013 Posts