SRT10 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question? Everbody keeps talking about putting 4:56's in the truck rather than the stock 4:10's. And not really seeing much difference in the times as far as quarter mile. If these trucks are pretty much useless in six gear at high speeds, wouldn't a lower gear be better, say like something even lower than 4:56's. How low could you go? Or could you? :confused: Would the computer even allow you to. Just curious. I have no money right now for anything extreme, like turbos or a supercharger (soon, but not yet!) but just looking for other alternatives other than just exhaust work, thats not too expensive. :p

·
Banned
1,977 Posts
Sure. GearHeadBill slapped a set of 5.13's in his, and he said he loves it!

Now, I'm no Differential expert, so I'll just attempt to repeat what Devin @ Unitrax told me. He said something about the Carrier would need to be changed if a gear lower than 4.56's were used(If I remember correctly??).

I'm currently on the waiting list at Unitrax for a set of 4.56's. Apparantly they're having problems getting the installation kits for our Diffs, so it's been a couple months now. Hopefully by Spring Rear-End parts will be more plentiful, and different gear ratios will be more readily available, because I think I would like to install at least 4.88's (maybe 5.13's??), as I have no plans of Forced Induction - ever.

The computer shouldn't be a problem at all. Our Diffs house the speed sensor which means our speedo's automatically adjust when gears are changed, which is one good thing!

FWIW, from what others have reported, I think we're looking at around ~$750 to swap in 4.56's. Dunno exactly what parts were changed other than gears though? And I don't know if a lower gear will end up costing more to get installed? Hopefully others will chime in and share their experiences.

·
Registered
179 Posts