SRT10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Registered
2,891 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
guys-i pulled my tranny this wekend to find out why the slave cylinder was toast & to install a new centerforce clutch kit & aluminum flywheel. i am not an engineer for Tremec transmissions, but i should be! the stock slave cylinder is a piece of **** plastic hunk of junk. the entire mechanism save but the throw out bearing endplate is ALL PLASTIC!. i have ordered one for a GTS viper which is all cast alloy. why in the f&*k would they put a plastic slave cylinder in ANYTHING not to mention a heavy truck is beyond me.
if youre haveing clutch trouble, dont even bother to bleed it. it is the fisher-price slave cylinder. make them replace it with a viper slave. EVERYONE IS GOING TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM EVENTUALLY! :mad:

·
Registered
1,343 Posts
Slave Cylinder

How funny, even Hot Wheels knows that certain things cannot be made of plastic as they MELT and distort. I would like your driving impressions of the light wheel as to initial start/launch, in regard to street driving and performance launch. Also did you use dual disk or single disk clutch? How hard was it to change out as to degree of difficulty> How many other parts or pieces did you have to move or remove to get the clutch/tranny out. Did you do it on the ground or on a hoist. Did you have a tranny jack. Approximately how long did it take you to do the job. Thanks Jack

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
BOOMER said:
guys-i pulled my tranny this wekend to find out why the
if youre haveing clutch trouble, dont even bother to bleed it. it is the fisher-price slave cylinder. make them replace it with a viper slave. EVERYONE IS GOING TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM EVENTUALLY! :mad:

My dealer is installing a new centerforce clutch, and flywheel as well. Just called up there, and they confirmed with their tech the Viper GTS Slave cylinder will work fine, so they are going to perform that as well.

THANKS BOOMER!

Craig

·
Registered
621 Posts