SRT10 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about to fly to pick up an 04 Ram SRT-10 with about 30k miles on it, and drive it back home, about 1200 miles.

I'm a fairly competent mechanic. Just wondering if there are any specific things to consider for the drive or tools to pack. Obviously I don't want to lug half my toolbox with me on the plane.

Any input is helpful. Thanks!

·
Registered
6 Posts
My H-balancer just came off at 60k. It's a known issue. Using AC makes it an issue faster. 2004's eat oil so check the oil a few times on your way back and watch your oil pressure...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My H-balancer just came off at 60k. It's a known issue. Using AC makes it an issue faster. 2004's eat oil so check the oil a few times on your way back and watch your oil pressure...
Is it a defect, like something broke? Or do they just tend to loosen up

·
Registered
5 Posts
I hope the previous owner of your SRT regularly maintained it over the last few years, or if you're buying it from a dealer, they honestly updated its maintenance. I bought a 2014 four months ago from the original owner with only 32k miles on it. It's in extremely good condition (now), but a lot of routine maintenance wasn't done with it for a number of years -- it basically started sitting around 5yrs. ago in the garage, and then spent the last 18mths. outside the garage under a car cover. It looks great, and had no engine codes, started fine and sounded great, but still had the original fluids (except for oil which was also years old) throughout. Had original tires, brakes, etc. It was 200 miles from my house, so I didn't take a chance and rented a Uhaul transporter and towed it back.